My thoughts on how to get into Harvard, Oxford, Cambridge, MIT and so on

OrangeHound

Hello

I first want to introduce myself since this is my first post on this forum. I am a IB student in Italy and next year I going to be a senior and i am going to take all of my IB exams (ouch), I have HL- English A1, Italian B, History and SL- Biology, Math SL, and Spanish.

Ok now that that's done I just want to share my thoughts about the competition to enter the world's best universities.

Well first we need to see the admission policy of these schools and here is where the problems begin.

Lets say you are a average white American in a IB school and you want to get into Harvard. This is what happens:

(Just for the sake of simplicity lets say they Harvard only gets 100 students a year)

Now the first thing Harvard needs is all the minorities they can possibly get, so they need 2 native Americans, 10 African Americans, 3 Latin Americans, and 15 Europeans. So if my math is correct that is 30 students and you dd not enter in that category so lets see the second thing Harvard looks at.

Connections, yea unfortunately. So all the people who have a friend of a friend and have ok grades get in, that is another 20 students.

So here is where the real competition starts, the last 50 places.

First off they get the most nerds of nerds, which are like 25.

But wait, there are way more nerds with score of 45 in the IB, why don't they get in? Because Harvard does not want a desolate campus with all of its students in there dorms studying.

So the remaining 25 students are students that the guy at admissions likes. They all have like a 39, 40, 41 or 42 and they got in because during their interview Harvard liked their way of talking or their way of thinking or just something in their character.

(remember that the numbers i put here a probably not right its just to give the idea)