Skipping the pre-IB

stormblue

Hey there!

I have never been a part of any IBO programme (like the Middle Years one) before. I finished my first year of high school in Poland. Prior to having moved to Sweden, I got into the IBDP there (I passed the entrance exam in February.) The school's IB coordinator told me that, judging by my performance, there's no point in me attending the pre-IB (I didn't want to do so simply because of my age.)

As a natural researcher, I'm pretty sunk up with everything I've read about the IB and its, uh, urban horror legends... Should I actually worry about starting the programme without the pre-IB year? 

Dunno - I didn't do a pre-IB year but I did GCSEs which are the right 'level' of education to sit before the IB. I think it depends what the pre-IB year teaches you that you need for IB. I can't really imagine how it would teach you much that you shouldn't be learning anyway.

No, definitely not, as long as you have done the first two years of high school. You don't necessarily have to do pre-IB to enter the IB and most schools don't even have pre-IB as an option. For instance, my school doesn't have a pre-IB class as it has a variety of high school diploma programs (only around one third of each years graduates at my high school graduate with an IB diploma) yet the people in IB tend to do pretty well. I'm also pretty sure many people on this forum haven't done pre-IB. So don't worry about it! You'll do fine as long as you actually work.

(PS: most of IB's "urban horror legends" are highly exaggerated! It's definitely still tough though.)

I think it depends; some subjects require a good foundation, while others don't. Many of the humanities start from the basics, while in experimental sciences and maths it's beneficial with a solid understanding of the core concepts.

You should be fine though. What subjects are you taking?