What have I done?

Gnooby

So my chosen subjects for next year are:

HL Mathematics

HL Physics

HL Chemistry

HL Economics

SL English Literature

SL French B (considering self-taught Swedish)

I just wanted to express how f**ked I feel, basically. If anybody wants to say anything, I'm all ears.

:)

Hi Gnooby, your subjects are well chosen actually! It depends on what you want to pursue later on in the future. But I'd rather you get a 40+ in the normal 3 HLs and 3 SLs than a 30 in 4 HLs, if you know what I mean. In the end, it's your grades and scores that matter, doing more HLs won't get you any more credit, it'll still be the same IB Diploma awarded to you. So why volunteer yourself for extra torture? The normal subject layout is already hell.

• Like 2

I'm a big fan of the HL Math/Phys/Chem combo. It lines you well up with a science/technology career. I would agree that, generally, four HLs make it unnecessarily tough. However, it's still not a bad idea to start off with 4—I did as well—as you can then drop down to SL in one if it becomes too hard.

Good luck!

• Like 1

No doubt that the HL Maths/Physics/Chemistry combination is a tough one, but of course it is possible to do it, and to do well with it! It does require hard work, but so do most things. If you are a maths/science person, arguable this is easier than doing language/arts/humanities at HL, so it does depend on each person. I'm assuming that you chose your own subjects (which is mostly the case, though I know some schools force you to take particular subjects), so hopefully you have chosen the subjects which you think you can manage and are best at and will enjoy the most! I would also agree that starting with 4 HL subjects is an excellent idea, as you can drop one of the HL subjects once you've had more experience of each. And yep, as mentioned, whether the very maths/science-heavy HL combination is good will also depend on what you want to do in the future. 

• Like 1