Subject choices

taolangpo

I'm an ex-I/GCSE student joining the DP programme in a month, and a few weeks ago I met my IBC. I took English and Math Assessments, getting 92 and 100 (out of 100) respectively. The IBC actually threatened to kill me if I didn't take Math HL. I thought I could handle it, but after lurking several IB forums and HL textbooks, I feel less certain. Here are the subjects the IBC chose with me:

HL: English Lang/Lit, Math, Economics, History (which I haven't done in two years)

SL: French B, Biology

I love French. I still don't know what I'm going to take at university – I lean towards humanities and International Studies, but I would also like to do French. (St Andrews offers Joint Honours in both)

Questions: Should I do four HLs? (Apparently American universities appreciate the challenge)

Should I drop Math to SL and replace it with French B HL, or leave the three-three arrangement?

Thank you

Before even answering your question,

Can I just suggest not doing 4 HLs?

Perhaps move History from the HL to the SL. That would be what I do, before even thinking about maths.

Especially when you say that you havent done history in 2 years (which might not even affect your grade in any way because you might be learning totally new topics even if you had done history in the last 2 years).

However, your university aspirations seem to be in areas that I doubt require HL math! In which case, History should stay in HL and maths should move to SL.

If you have any concerns about not being able to tackle maths (though your scores are impressive and it sounds like you'll ace maths HL).

Do you have to lock in your HLs and SLs before actually starting IB? I know that in our school we never officially picked our HLs until year 2 of IB.  This allowed us to see how well we were doing in the subjects and what we liked better. Maths HL was the only subject where we had to pick in year 1 (as it was taught separately to Maths SL).