Guidance on my EE topic

Star_Lord

Hiiiii!

Im new and this is my first post anywhere ever.

I kinda need a bit of help. I'm on summer hols atm and I'm working on my EE in English.

I have a topic in mind but I have no idea where to go with it.

In ToK class when I studied Language as a Way of Knowing, my teacher spent a couple days teaching us about storytelling and how we as humans are storytellers. What he was talking about is unrelated to my EE, but one thing he mentioned in passing kinda stuck with me.

It was this idea of every story having 'archetypes' of certain characters depending on what kind of story it was. So like ideas of characters like the all-knowing, all-powerful, old man mentor, or the young saviour, the parent or parents of the saviour who sacrifice themselves, or the anti-hero with a heart of gold, the chase for the macguffin, the vengeful villain who wants to punish the world for [insert childhood trauma here], the tropes of a bildungsroman, etc.

I want to create a topic that somehow allows me to explore the use of such archetypical characters and plot points and analyses their roles in manners in which they fulfil the traditional roles they're assigned, but also comments on how in their particular stories, the authors bring about certain changes, or surprise you with certain character developments and shift the archetype of a character. So like example a character you thought was the well-meaning mentor actually turns out to be THE villain with a childhood trauma or a 'Luke, I am your father!' moment.

Does that make any sense?

Alternatively, I was thinking maybe doing an essay on plays that breach the fourth wall and analyse the effect that they have...Though I'm not as keen on this as I was on the mess above.

What do you guys think? I could really use some help!

Thanks!

• Like 1

Well, I really like your topics, but I don't know how suited they are for the EE.