HL Maths in one year/ From SL Maths in IB1 to HL Maths in IB2

xaviergoby

Hello all  :bye: ,

I am a student who is in IB2 and who has recently decided to take up HL Maths due to the fact that I believe I made a very wrong decision by taking SL Maths due to the fact that HL Maths is more or less required everywhere in the UK for engineering. The reason for this very bad decision was mainly due to the fact that I was encouraged to get as much points as possible not focus less on requirements for courses. I have now been told by the HL Mathematics teacher that I will have to sit a test on the 13th of October for Complex and Imaginary numbers and I will be able to join the HL class only and only if I attain something above a 4. May I please have some tips? I do feel sad that I have made this decision soo late into my life and it is quite overwhelming however I am trying to keep my mind on track. Aside from studying the content in the book and doing past papers are there any other tips you wonderful mathematicians may advise me :)?

PS: I have my mind up so please do not sway me from my decision for I have had to try and ignore enough of this already :P

Thank you very much guy.

• Like 1

Well, you certainly do have a tough task ahead of you. My school doesn't allow switching from SL to HL Maths under any circumstances, and the difference is indeed big. With that being said, let's see what we've got. How much ahead are the HL kids? October 13th is still far, and if you focus on it, you could definitely manage complex/imaginary numbers, but I'd be more worried about the rest of the syllabus. See, HL asks for lots of routine. Really, a lot. You need to be very fast when solving in order to have enough time for the entire exam. Also, the content digs deeper, asking for the true understanding, and not just giving the easy answer.