How to improve French (very important)

Hi guys,

Last month I started the IB, and one of the subjects I'm taking is SL French B. So far this is my hardest subject and I can see this turning into a nightmare; I find it harder than all of my HL subjects even. I was thinking about switching out of it to another language B, but the only other option is Spanish, which I have no experience in whatsoever. 

In SL French B, so far we've been reading texts and answering questions on it, which is for paper 1 I believe. Also, we've been practicing writing paragraphs in French, which I believe is for paper 2. Other than the practices for these papers, we've been looking at pictures and talking in French about them, in prepartion for the IAs (orals).

I've been having extreme difficulties with all of the above. For paper 1 practices, I can barely understand the text, or the questions, so it's almost impossible for me to answer the questions. For paper 2 practices, I've also been having a lot of hard time, as I cannot write well in French at all, aside from very, very basic stuff. And for IA (oral) practices, I'm also having huge amounts of trouble, as I cannot speak in French, literally. Our teacher said, for the IA/oral, we'll have to look at a picture, and talk about it for 4-5 min, and then we'll be asked questions on it, which we'll have to answer for another 4-5 min, bringing the total to 8-10 min. The thought of that is driving me crazy, as right now I cannot even talk in French for 30 seconds, and I have to do it for 8-0 min. In fact, you can say, I cannot talk in French at all (maybe very, very basic stuff, but again for like 30 seconds).