Asking a girl to prom

King112

Hi. I'm new to IB as well as IBSurvival, so I apologise for any mistakes I make.

I recently shifted to an IB school, and I found out that I have to ask a girl to the prom. Its a few months away, but other guys have already started working on it. 

I have a crush on this really cute girl in my history class. I am a shy guy, and am considered a geek by most people. I seem to be getting mixed signs from this girl, but since I have never had a girlfriend, I could be reading something else. 

I also think I should mention the fact that my parents are against dating, but I'm not, and I

Any Advice? (Girls some advice would really be appreciated, Guys as well)

Edited by King112

Start getting closer to her. She sounds genuinely nice so she'd be nice to you since you are new. And once you get a bit more familiar, ask her to prom. Don't make it a big deal, like very 'official', just play the new-kid card: you're new and she's "one of the closest people you have in the school" type of thing. If she also likes you, she'll say yes anyway. If she doesn't, she is still likely to say yes if you kinda ask her as a friend. But if she's really cute (like popular cute) you might want to not wait very long. Honestly, if you're not sure about the signals, just try to get closer to her with no clear 'role'. Since you're new I think it's easier to do so without being obvious. 

Hope I helped :D