Help! I'm completelly losing myself in the IB

24JoseFerreira

Hey IB students and teachers!  ^_^

I am a student from Portugal and completely new to this website. I have come in search for help! I had a pretty easy life throughout school here in Portugal (PYP and MYP were basic!) and suddenly the IB comes, and hits me as hard as a tsunami....

My choices were and are:

• Biology HL
  • Chemistry HL
  • Psychology HL
  • English Lang and Lit
  • Spanish Ab initio
  • Maths Standard

I am losing myself in these choices. I mean my languages are fine, should get a 6 or a 7 for both, but the rest is too hard. I'm losing track already. Mid term 1, I currently have a 2 for Chem, 3 for Biology and a 2 for Psychology, and a 3 for Maths. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I believe I have studied enough but when it comes to the test I just feel like I forget everything, all the time!!! I really don't know how I'm supposed to survive the IB if I can't even survive term 1. I could really use all the help possible right now! I have no idea what I'm doing and I desperately need to make 38 points to go to Forensic Science at UCL! Please people! Any advice or suggestions would be amazing! I also answer PM's if anyone prefers to talk to me through there. I hope no one is running into as much trouble as I am! 

• Like 1

Calm down. Just take a deep breath and come down. 

OK, now that we have that covered, check all the bad grades you got and see why that was. Most of the time, it is the structure of the answer that is wrong. Talk to your teachers about it, make them explain it to you. Regarding math, practice more. My problem was that the questions in the book were  much easier than the past paper questions used for tests. 

Good luck

Bio + Che support each other. I would keep them HL. If you want to go for Medicine, keep CHE. I got 6 in CHE last mid term.