Doing an EE in Music

Tafarijl

So just to start, I do not take IB music, but I am eligible to take it next year. As a musician, I sincerely enjoy music and feel that doing my Extended Essay in music will be the most interesting topic to choose from. However, I have been given warnings about doing an EE in music. My supervisor claims that doing music will be a completely different way in terms of how the paper is conducted. I've heard numerous examples online about an Extended Essay in music being very annoying. 

That being said, I have been thinking about a topic but have not really hit a target yet. 

The basic idea of my EE is to analyze the evolution of American Music within the 20th century. I thought this was a great idea but then learned that I need to actually analyze one or two songs. This then drifted me to center my plan on jazz and its substantial effect of American music in the 20th century.

(Possible Question: To what extent did the genre of Jazz shape American music in the 20th century and form contemporary music?)

I feel that this question is too broad given the format an Extended Essay in music should be written in. I have read the guide for an EE in music numerous times but there are still some parts that seem to slip away from me. 

Does the EE in music have to be about analyzing a song itself and not the analysis of a type of music as a whole? Better yet, if I were able to go through with my plan, should I structure it around a specific song or songs? I am truly in a knot right now.

Any help will be very appreciated, especially from those who have done an EE in music or are currently doing so.

I did my EE in music, got an A.