Tips for memorization?

Susannah

Hi everybody,

I'm a pre-IB student right now but I'm very excited to do the IB Diploma Program in the future! (So excited, in fact, that I look at this website daily even though I won't be in IB for another year and a half).

Anyway, as it's getting a bit closer to finals and as I'm preparing to go into more difficult classes next year and the year after that, I was wondering if anybody had any memorization tips. I have a pretty good memory already, and I use the chunking method for things like dates, number sequences, etc. I also use flashcards and quizlet for certain things as well. However, those methods don't work too well for more complicated information like scientific processes or for memorizing presentations and such. As IB students, what are your strategies for memorization and what do you find works best for you personally if you have an exam or something you have to cram for? 

Well, for remembering laws like Fleming's left hand law, I make the MFC (motion, force current), into rude words. I'll leave what exactly to imagination. It helps me because hey, everyone remembers bad language. 

For dates in History, I tend to imagine myself in the scenario. For example, World War I, Archduke Francis Ferdinand was assassinated on 28th June 1914. This helps me because I imagine being there, so i remember most dates.

Otherwise, I just use my memory (which is pretty decent) to just take it in. That works.

when I need to remember facts for Econ I get so much practice in school, that its hard to forget. 

So those are my ways.

Hope it helps you.

• Like 1

To be honest, I don't think you should necessarily be looking for better methods to memorize material.  It may sound cliché, but you should be trying your best to understand topics rather than just memorizing.  Obviously, long math formulas and such should be memorized, but for others subjects, my teachers constantly stress that memorization doesn't get anyone anywhere.