How to tackle Geography Paper 2?

kevG

Hey guys, so I figured out the art to acing paper 1 Geography and it's time to move onto paper 2. They say that paper 2 is way harder than paper 1 mainly due to the Essay questions. So I know that I have to get cracking on the essays, which I'm not very good at. I usually only get 10/15 on the paper 1 essay and ace the short answers to get 7's but Paper 2 is predominantly graded on the Essays and I don't really want to lose marks on it.

Can anyone help me to improve my Geography Essay skills? Any tips? Guide to a perfect geography essay structure?

My teacher said I tend to 'waffle' a lot on my essays and not answer the questions directly; the reason why I lose marks. And I often lose track of time (Since one essay should only take about 20 minutes or so and I don't have time to conclude the essay).

She also said she'll predict me a 6 instead of a 7 if I get anything less than a 7 in the next paper 2 test, so please help me out guys.

Heey - I have exactly the same problem as you, except I don't have enough statistics apparently. I guess the main thing is seeing which case studies overlap with the core, and try to recycle them (less memorising and stuff!). I always make a plan before each essay, and I spend no more than 2.5 mins planning - just jotting down the key points you want to say. Stick to the plan, treat it like an English essay, and aim to write 1.5 pages per essay (depending on your handwriting). The absolute most important thing is to make sure you include maps and diagrams to enhance your response, seriously, the IB will love you for that! Which options are you doing, cos I might be able to help with option-specific essay stuff too :)

• Like 2

You're in luck as that's one of my options!