I want to apply to Oxford.. I have some confusions

imhyungjooo

Ok, I am a student studying the IB diploma.

I am planning to apply for Oxford as a Biology major.

However, my subjects seem to be quite a problem.

I have seven subjects

<HL>

Mathematics

Physics

Philosophy

English B

<SL>

Biology

World Literature (Korean self taught)

<Seventh>

Italian AB Inizio (This is not an IB subject since it is a seventh but all students in our college have to take it)

So actually, I only have to care about the six subjects except Italian,

It is strange that I didn't take Bio as higher right?

This is the problem... Our school doesn't offer Physics and Philosophy in a standard block, and we can take

4 maximum subjects in the higher blocks, so it is basically occupied right now. So even if I take Physics or Philosophy as

standard, I have to attend it in a higher subject block... I couldn't drop Mathematics and English since they are quite 

guaranteed 6+ subjects...

I am confused because in the Oxford homepage, they said that the requirements for Biological studies are 

Biology or Human Science. They didn't state whether I have to take higher or I just have to take it in any way.

Is Biology Standard okay? Will it be a disadvantage?

Oh and I have one more question.

The website states that I can apply if my IB score is between 38-40. Is this score the whole IB score? 

38-40 out of 45? I heard that some universities post requirements "excluding TOK" because they don't 

consider tok as a demanding subject...

I am waiting for your help please.

Edited by imhyungjooo

It is 38-40 out of 45.

Oxford understands not all schools offer education of the same quality and ask you about these limiting factors. But if you can take HL Bio but don't want to (i.e. you're afraid you won't get a 6+ in HL Bio, but will in Math/English), they definitely won't see it as a good thing. Are you sure you should go to Oxford for Biology if you can't manage HL in the IB?