Probability question.

Guest SNJERIN

Guest SNJERIN

Can someone help me understanding this question. I just don't seen to understand what they mean. They gave me the probability that she flies or drives when visiting her relatives, so what is point of having this 13/18 ?? 

post-131733-0-84687300-1454763264_thumb.

Edited by Haitham Wahid

I think (not sure) that the 13/18 is the probability of her driving to visit relatives in general, and it seems the question says that she has them in both Nashville and St Louis. I might be wrong, though, this question is not overly clear to me. 

Can someone help me understanding this question. I just don't seen to understand what they mean. They gave me the probability that she flies or drives when visiting her relatives, so what is point of having this 13/18 ?? 

I'm no expert at probability. In fact, it's the topic I hate most because it's always very confusing. But here's my attempt at the question.

Let Prob, D, F, N, S stand for, 'probability', 'driving', 'flying', 'Nashville', & 'St Louis', respectively. Now if I understand everything correctly, the question states that:

• Prob of her driving anywhere is gif.latex? P(D)=\frac{13}{18}. So prob of her flying anywhere is gif.latex? P(F)=\frac{5}{18}
  • Prob of driving given that she's going to Nashville is gif.latex? P(D|N)=\frac{4}{5}. So prob of her flying given that she's going to Nashville is gif.latex? P(F|N)=\frac{1}{5}
  • Prob of flying given that she's going to St Louis is gif.latex? P(F|S)=\frac{1}{3}. So prob of driving given that she's going to St Louis is gif.latex? P(D|S)=\frac{2}{3}

For (a), total probability of driving is equal to probability of driving to Nashville plus probability of driving to St Louis. In other words:

gif.latex? P(D)=P(N)P(D|N) + P(S)P(D|S)

gif.latex?\Leftrightarrow P(N) = \frac{5