IB Subject selection help!

GK1

Hey, guys!

I had to hand in my DP subject choices, I start the program in September 2016. I really want to study engineering ( mechanical, aerospace and electronics are my main choices). So I chose these subjects, I just wanted an opinion on how they are. 

HL;

Physics

Maths

Chemistry

Economics

SL;

English lang lit

Dutch lang lit 

History

Questions;

1) Are these subjects a good choice ( I'm aware they're difficult, but I'm a good student with an average of 6.5+/7 in the MYP)?

2)What would I need to do to get into uni's like Oxford, Cambridge, UCL and such top schools?

3) What is the DP like?

4)What should I do to survive and thrive in DP ( time management etc)?

I know that there's a lot of questions, but I'm really nervous and want to do as well as possible, hopefully scoring 40+...

Thanks in advance.

• Like 1

Oh lord, I'm dealing with the same thing here. 

I'm confused and I don't know what to do since I want to study both medicine in the UK (or somewhere else abroad) or in Sweden. 

However, I think your choices are good. An advice is to rethink about Math HL, majority of IB students who chose Math HL did not make it and had to retake the course.

Good luck!

Hi,

Our subject choices are so similar! They are really good for engineering and the universities will be looking for these subjects. But like everyone says, they are difficult. Now, this totally depends on how good you are at grasping concepts and whether you like these subjects or not. But if you're so sure, I don't think you should drop them. Economics HL is a cakewalk, at least for me and so is chemistry, to a point. Physics and math are difficult sometimes, but if you can manage them, well and good. Think about math, though. Its hard to score in and many people lose out because of this. Though it's be great if you could do math, because the top unis are looking for this.