If you attended either The University of Nottingham or The University of Edinburgh, I need some advice please!

Will

So yeah,

I live way out in the Caribbean, and won't have a chance to visit any of the universities I've applied to before I make my decision, hence I'm coming to you guys.

My two most preferred choices are The University of Nottingham and The University of Edinburgh, so if you attended one of those, I'd really appreciate your thoughts on that Uni.

I'm going to study Electrical Engineering, but even if you did something totally different, still give me the lowdown on your experience. 

Even if you didn't go to either of these Uni's, give me your opinions on them, let me know what you think, and what my best option would be for what I'm studying. Again, I live way out in the middle of nowhere (I attend the smallest IB school in the entire world), so anything helps! 

Also real quick: I've sent all my applications, with entry date as 2017. Do I still have to send in my responses with the same deadline as 2016 candidates? 

Thanks a tonne, I appreciate the help. 

Edit: Also... Edinburgh requires 4 years for a BEng, and 5 for an MEng... Anyone know why Edinburgh requires that extra year?

Edited by Will

If you're applying for autumn 2017 entry, you should apply before 15 January 2017, and earliest in September 2016, I think.

EDIT: Wait, you've sent your application already? Did you send it before or after Jan 15 this year? If later, you won't be considered equally with other applicants even if you're applying for deferred entry -- if you applied for deferred entry (i.e. 2017 entry), and you get offers, and you'll fulfill the conditions of your offer, you have a place in the university.)