Psychology IA - how does inferential statistics work?

Hello!!

I am writing my psychology IA right now, but now I'm at the result section and I don't understand a thing! My teacher does not explain this well, and he doesn't seem to be certain about what he's doing. There was actually a few people last year who failed their psychology, mainly because of their IAs so I'm a bit terrified!

I'm a HL student, so I will need inferential statistics but how does that actually work?? For example, my teacher said I should use the General Linear Model, but I don't know if I'm allowed to use that.. I haven't found anyone who have used it before, but it does calculated the level of significance. Also, do I need a graph or something similar for the inferential part? (I already have graphs in the descriptive statistics section of the essay)

Thank you so much in advance!

General Linear Model sounds more advanced than necessary for IB Psychology. Generally a simple t-test will suffice or Mann Whitney test. ANOVAs are something you learn in university Psychology programs.

The purpose of inferential statistics is to provide a probability that the results you got could have occurred from chance. The smaller your probability (p level) the less likely it is your results occurred due to chance. You do not use graphs for inferential statistics p level reporting, you report the means, standard deviation and p level, then you use your descriptive statistics for the data visualization in a graph.

• Like 1

On 2016-03-17 at 1:54 PM, blindpet said:

General Linear Model sounds more advanced than necessary for IB Psychology. Generally a simple t-test will suffice or Mann Whitney test. ANOVAs are something you learn in university Psychology programs.