Choosing IB subjects

NadinaCastro

Hi,

I am currently studying my last year of MYP and have been asked to start making some choices regarding my IB subjects. My aim is to get at least 42 points and to apply (and hopefully go to) Cambridge, UCL, King's College, Durham university, University of Bristol or Bath or East Anglia. I am thinking of studying psychology but am not 100% sure so I would like to keep my options open to be able to switch to an english based degree instead. 

My current options are: 

English A HL Literature

Spanish B HL (Spanish is my first language)

Business HL (maybe History HL)

Biology HL 

Math SL

Drama SL

Would these subjects make a good enough IB for Cambridge? Would I be able to get 42/45 points? Should I change business to history?

Thank you so much for your help <3 

Edited by NadinaCastro

UK universities usually require "at least one, but preferably two" HL sciences for Psychology. So if I were you, I'd drop Business to SL (or History, doesn't really matter much, but I'm guessing business is easier to score high in), drop drama and take another HL science, such as Chemistry or Psychology (if your school offers it). Since you're planning to apply to some of the most competitive universities, I wouldn't risk applying with one science (although having one science won't kill your application, most likely). 

As to whether you can get 42 points, that only depends on you and your ability, and how you study. As we don't know you,  none of us can really answer this question. 

Edited by Gaby

1 minute ago, NadinaCastro said: