What's the best way to study for an exam on four topics in one week?

TYO

It does not count in the long run but if I fail it I will not be able to continue HL Bio, and will not get my diploma :mellow:. I'm at a level 1-3. I want to get a level 5 to raise my average so that I do not fail. But I barely know anything at all. The topics are 1, 2, 7 and 8. I feel like I really just need to memorize the Oxford study guide for those topics to get a 7. Is memorizing all that possible if I have NO background knowledge. I have 1 week. What to do.

(Fail by School's Standards / Translation of Levels to Marks)

Okay, so Chapter 2 is the largest topic, and we're only just covering 8 now (haven't started 7) so I can't give you advice on those. However, some general advice:

• Revise every day from now. If you're memorising, you need to ingrain it into your brain. Set aside at least an hour each day for pure biology revision. Cramming four topics into one week is very difficult, especially with no background knowledge, but it looks like you'll have to do it.
  • There are structures that you need to know (glucose, ribose, fatty acids, phospholipid bilayers, prokaryotic cells, eukaryotic cells, etc.) - draw them out every day
  • Know your applications and skills! This is mostly knowledge from the book that is applied, so you can kill two birds with one stone by revising them together
  • Nature of sciences depend on whether your school focuses on them. Ideally, they should be, but if they never have, chances are you can get away with just skimming over them. Perhaps write down the case studies and revise them today, tomorrow, three days after that, and then right before the text.
  • Do not panic. That will not help. Also, don't study straight. Take breaks every 25 minutes for 5 minutes, then get back and study again.