BIO IA PLEASE HELP

Myr Z

I'm a biology HL student and my IA is on the effect of temperature on lactase activity. I finished my experiment successfully and I have started writing the actual IA, but I am concerned about the research question. My research question is the following: How does exposing lactase to different temperatures affect its activity as a catalyst of lactose breakdown in regular whole milk, measured by change in glucose concentration? 

I feel like it is very long, but my teacher disagrees and wants me to add more information in it, like the temperature range, the exact kind of milk (fat % included), and the device I used to measure glucose concentration (I used a blood glucose Glucometer). 

What should I do? I know people will say to trust my teacher, but nobody at my school trusts him and he's not the best Biology teacher. 

Please help. 

Edited by Myr Z

Hi, 

I agree with your teacher; but i can understand your concern. Bio IA's are different to EE's, in EE's the RQ (research question) has to be broad; but in BIO it should be really specific. So as long as you aren't changing the fat% or type of milk and, you are just changing temp. I would follow your teachers advice.

If you don't trust your bio teacher 100%, maybe refer your RQ with another bio teacher, i'm sure they'd be happy to offer some help :)

Hope this helps.^_^

When you're writing your IA, some of the things on this site can be quite useful :happycrying:

https://ib-biology-roundtable.wikispaces.com

• Like 1

15 minutes ago, Oscarthecat3 said:

Hi, 

I agree with your teacher; but i can understand your concern. Bio IA's are different to EE's, in EE's the RQ (research question) has to be broad; but in BIO it should be really specific. So as long as you aren't changing the fat% or type of milk and, you are just changing temp. I would follow your teachers advice.