Jump to content

Minimum Score for an IB Diploma

Recommended Posts

In order to receive an IB diploma, candidates must receive a minimum of 24 points or an average of four (or C) out of a possible seven points for six subjects. Candidates must also receive a minimum of 12 points from their Higher Level subjects and a minimum of 9 points from their Standard Level subjects.  

  • Like 1

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

From General Regulations: Diploma Programme. Note, articles 18 and 19 refer to extraneous circumstances that are well documented and excused.


For those taking more than 6 subjects, additional subjects must be pre-determined and will not contribute to diploma grade. 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Starting with the May 2015 session the following failing conditions and associated codes have replaced the previous ones.

1. CAS requirements have not been met.

2. Candidate’s total points are fewer than 24.

3. An N has been given for theory of knowledge, extended essay or for a contributing subject.

4. A grade E has been awarded for one or both of theory of knowledge and the extended essay.

5. There is a grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.

6. Grade 2 has been awarded three or more times (HL or SL).

7. Grade 3 or below has been awarded four or more times (HL or SL).

8. Candidate has gained fewer than 12 points on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count).

9. Candidate has gained fewer than 9 points on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
This topic is now closed to further replies.


Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.