Notes on paper or on laptop

AdriannaXX

Hello,! 

I am an IB student and I am struggling with a certain aspect which is taking notes . Writing things down on paper in my notebooks takes time, but I feel like I remember more. On the other hand, typing things on my laptop is quicker, but then requires printing it and it does not always feel comfortable to study from printed text :mellow:

Do you have any tips what is the best way to make notes?

Personally, I took almost all of my notes on paper. In class or when reading a book I found it easier to jot stuff down in a notebook rather than a laptop. I think that writing down information is better for retaining it. 

Some will suggest Cornell style notes, but I'm not a fan. They are very structured so I use my own method. Basically, I write the section headings at the top, followed by bullet point notes. 

• Like 1

Personally, throughout the IB I took notes on my laptop and then printed it out and read from them. This worked for me, but what works for me may not work for you. I just feel like having everything on your laptop makes it much more organized. For example, for my Business notes I wrote them down according to the number on the syllabus and when it came to revising for the exams apart from past papers I just read the notes, it was crucial for achieving my 7.  I would make them on your laptop and then read them over and over again. If you feel handwritten notes are better I'd get a notebook and write them down and then perhaps write them over again. A girl in my Physics class did this and she achieved some pretty high scores too. 

• Like 1