Language B self-taught

Hello everyone! My sister is currently doing IB in New Zealand and she's taking French B but she's struggling with it so she thought she could take Arabic B instead (her first language), although her school doesn't offer it. 

So my questions are:

1) Can she take language B as self-taught? If yes, is there any legal IB document for this? cause I can't find one on the internet

2) Can her school disapprove of this? Or is self-taught system is only based on the student's decision and preference?

3) Is there a guide to the assessments that are done in self taught subjects? Or can she contact someone to guide her and let her know all the assessments and due dates? 

Thank you so much guys! By the way I did IB too :)

Edited by Hoda Fahmy

Hello,

1) yes she can do self taught. The only relevant document is for her IB coordinator to register her as doing arabic B.

2) her school can't disapprove of this, if it does she can go to the ibo and complain

3) All assessments in a B language are the same (just in a different language) so she could ask her (former) French teacher for deadlines

Hope this helps :)

• 6 months later...
On 7/23/2016 at 5:31 PM, bynary said:

2) her school can't disapprove of this, if it does she can go to the ibo and complain

How does this work? My school doesn't offer self-taught language B - am I supposed to force them into finding me the means of doing the course? I assumed if it wasn't available, they didn't have providers for the course content.