continue to study chemistry?

chem..

Hi guys,

I am a student in Year 12, just finished my term 1 of year 12

I have got a chemistry exam for the first time but the result is really horrible( probably 30~40%, the school average is about 60% and this exam is 35% of semester 1 grade)

I really worry about keep doing chemistry HL and the unit I took was just stoichiometry which is easier than other units(I heard that)

For people experienced chemistry HL, do you guys think I need to change subjects? I am not that passionate about chemistry but I could not confirm my career so I am going to take 

2 sciences better than 2 social sciences(likely to go science related major or economics)(taking eco HL chem HL math HL lang a, lang b, biology SL.

p.s. Is this really highly affecting my GPA for US university?

Thank you.

Edited by chem..

Worry not! My school started chemistry about a month ago I had some of my friends doubt their chemistry skills as well. We finished the first two topics already, and even those who got an A* at igcse managed only a 3 or a 4 on the stoichiometry test. 

My Chem teacher says that the adjustment to the new style of questions might take a while, and that we should not let these few first grades make us drop chemistry. Some people struggle a bit with stoichiometry, but just like maths, practice will help you improve exponentially - take my word for it. 

tl;dr Continue with Chem HL because the first unit test grade does not define your final IB grade. 

On 9/26/2016 at 6:56 PM, mac117 said:

Worry not! My school started chemistry about a month ago I had some of my friends doubt their chemistry skills as well. We finished the first two topics already, and even those who got an A* at igcse managed only a 3 or a 4 on the stoichiometry test.