IB Music Solo Performing

anastasyac

Hi, guys!

So currently I am already in my 2nd year of IB, and I am very worried about my IA/solo performing. 

I have been playing the piano for quite some time, started since I was around 3 years old (I've been playing for more than 13 years), but the problem is I have been very lazy and have only picked it up seriously around two years ago. 

My piano skills are okay, I don't play classical so I do not take ABRSM exams, but according to my teacher my technical skill level at the moment should be around Grade 6-ish. The pieces I can and currently learning to play is All of Me by Jon Schmidt (The Piano Guys), Divenire by Ludovico Einaudi, and I am currently learning Maple Leaf Rag by Scott Joplin. I might also learn few of Chopin nocturnes/etudes as well in the future. 

The problem is, that it takes me such a long time to be able to master a piece (it can take me literally years), and in a program like IB music I know that I need to be able to perform numerous pieces decently in a short amount of time since I need to do a lot of those for the program. I have recorded two piano pieces so far, which is Divenire and All of Me. My Divernire was decent so I think I might be able to submit that, however, my All of Me is terrible hahaha :P 

However, my Einaudi piece is very long - if i'm not mistaken it is 8 or 9 mins long, and I know that we are limited to only 15 mins of performance. I am also aware that the examinors are looking for a wide range of music, so I feel that 8 min piece might be too long and I am only left with 6 more minutes which means I can only play roughly around 2 more short pieces. 

Also, I picked up the violin 2 years ago and although I'm still quite terrible, I might get recruited into a string quartet and this might be an opportunity for one of my pieces to submit to the IB. 

Overall, I have a few questions: