EE's Effect on College Admissions

Adastra

Hello, 

I am a first year IB student and I have started to consider my EE topic. I want to study Biomedical/Biological Engineering in future; my courses are Chemistry, Physics, Math, Turkish A, English B and ITGS. Keeping my goal in mind, I thought that an extended essay on Physics or Chemistry would look good for the college applications. However writing an extended essay on those is a tough job and I am not genuinely sure if I can hit A with an EE on Physics. On the other hand, Language A is a course that I really enjoy and I believe that a research on Turkish literature would be both easy and fun. My concern is that an extended essay on Language A could be a weak spot for an engineering applicant. Do you think that would affect my application? Should I switch to Physics or Chemistry even if there is a possibility that my grade will not be high? 

Thank you in advance.

Edited by neflenesli

Your EE should not affect your application, regadless of where you want to go, but for specifics you'd have to ask someone who knows of the country you want to apply to. Whilst doing an EE in physics may give you something to talk about in any application essays or interviews, which may have its own benefits, your EE is not something that universities look for in particular - in the end, it's the grade that matters.

Personally, I'd say do what you enjoy. Remember, you're going to spend a decent amount of time on your EE, and you'll want to choose something that you most enjoy. Whilst I wouldn't say that research will be 'easy' for any subject, I would say that you should also consider the grades students tend to recieve for different groups. As you said, getting As in Group 4 is often said to be more difficult than for Group 1.