A1 self-taught

luk3tm

German A1? Never knew it existed. If that is the case, I think yes you'll get the same exam. But A1 is all about reading books and writing essays it can't really be "self-taught".

I guess you know very little about IB then. There are A1 languages that are so rare that only 1 person takes the exam each year.

• 1 month later...

Yes, the exams will be the same. Although I think they do take into account when grading that it is self taught.

However, I highly recommend you do not do it self taught because a language at A1 is hard, and it is always good to get some guidance from your teachers.

Self taught at B level if you are competetent in that language is fine.

• 1 month later...

I considered doing self-taught Korean as my A1 level, but then didn't, because I couldn't find a suitable teacher outside school. You also have to consider that you have to read a lot of literature (15 I think when you are higher level and 11..... or something like that when you are SL) and submit world lit papers etc. etc.... If you do a self study, you have to give them in all by yourself (your school doesn't send it for you) and really for essay writing, I personally would need gudiance.

I took English A1 and German A2 instead simply because they are both taught in my school, but A1 self study without any teacher/guidance isn't recommended. A friend of mine does Portuguese A1 self-study, but she has a teacher outside school whom she sees once a week. I suppose that you could do self-study nevertheless, but it is really not recommended.

Self-taught can only be done at SL level.

The exam is the same as the SL exam. My friend is doing the German self-taught and just did her mock exam today. They expect you to know the same amount as SL students studying German A1 do.

Bonuses: You get a bi-lingual diploma.