Can math studies students manage SAT?

sagiiss

Hi!

I take math studies, indicating that I absolutely don't want to study anything that has to do with math after graduating from the IB.

However, I'm considering to apply to the US so I want to do the "standard" SAT tests (math & English). Some people say that the math is way too hard for math studies students to manage, while others say that the math is simple enough for basically anyone to get a good grade in. 

Does anyone have any experience with SATs? Can you get a good score even if you're in math studies? :( Help pleaseee!

Hiya!

I'm a Math Studies student and although I'm not applying to the US and didn't do the actual SATs, I did the PSATs. Not sure if you did too... but I get 6s in Math Studies and in the PSATs I did quite well on the math section. Not the best, but it wasn't bad. 

Talk to your math teacher and explain the situation to him/her. They can advise you and possibly even give you practice exercises to help you prepare for it. A very helpful link I've found is from KhanAcademy that gives you great exercises related to what you would expect on the SATs: https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/sat/sat-math-practice

Generally, just keep studying and practicing for it with the right material and you should be fine.

Good luck!

Edited by sodonewithib
  • Like 1

• 4 weeks later...

I'm getting a 5 in SL maths and got a 550 on the SAT maths section with revision. But it was at the time of which I was at a 2 in SL maths thus times have changed plus as I'm English the SAT is totally new to me and my family, it was my first SAT exam and I went in totally alone, not even help from my university councillor at school. The exam itself was quite tricky for someone of my calibre, but I do feel like the Studies curriculum is centred towards SAT curriculum whereas the SL maths curriculum is much more advanced than the SAT.