"How do you get a 7 in HL English?"

Hey everyone,

I'm currently in my first year of the IB and one of my HL courses is English L/L. Despite having hated english last year, I am absolutely in love with it this year. I have an absolutely fabulous teacher who has really motivated me into wanting to do well (he also convinced me to switch it up to HL (rather than SL)). Of course I've heard all of the (probably true) rumours about it being incredibly difficult to achieve a 7 at HL. At the moment, I often find myself wanting to do something to "study" for english but having no idea what to do. 
Anyone here who's taken/is taking HL english and is achieving high marks? What do you do (unless you happen to be inherently good at english I suppose haha)? How can I study/improve? "How does one get a 7?" (Even though I really do understand that it's much, much more complicated than that) 

Thank you so much! 
Alex

(btw I got an A and A for IGCSE English Lang and IGCSE English Lit respectively (this is with very little studying (as I, as mentioned above, hated english)))

I'm SL, but this applies for HL as well. The jump from IGCSE to IB was smaller than in my other IB classes, though I definitely felt it despite doing quite well on the IGCSE.

When you write essays and get them back, read through the feedback thoroughly and carefully. If you don't understand some of it, talk to the teacher and explain what they mean. In my personal opinion English is like maths where you can only improve by actually doing exercises etc. I will make a bit of a stretch here and say that reading books will help you improve on your grammar, vocabulary, as well as the sentence structure.