Is Lit or Lang Lit easier?

Felix Lauren

I'm a Lang Lit student and to be honest, I feel like it's much easier than Lit. It's also much more interesting. But then again, that just depends on what your interests are. If you're more into the use of language in advertising, propaganda, plays, poems, campaigns, etc, Lang and Lit is easier and more fun. Literature requires you to read much more so the workload is slightly more than that of Lang Lit. What are you thinking of doing?

I think it really depends on you as a student, and what you prefer. For example, I'm fairly certain LangLit would have been more difficult for me than Lit because I find poetry and novels easier to understand than a freakin' cereal packet. Like with most IB subjects, it depends on the individual too.

Me again! :) I think it depends on what your strengths are. Sodonwithib basically has what I want to say down, and really, if you're good at analysing novels and poetry and things like that, you'll prefer Lit, but if you're like me, you'll like Lang Lit more. We analysed emojis in the first class of the year, and that was super duper fun for me ;) But like everyone above me has said, you should pick the subject you'll enjoy more, because it's really no fun to take a subject that you hate. Hope this helps! 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, meimiao said:

Me again! :) I think it depends on what your strengths are. Sodonwithib basically has what I want to say down, and really, if you're good at analysing novels and poetry and things like that, you'll prefer Lit, but if you're like me, you'll like Lang Lit more. We analysed emojis in the first class of the year, and that was super duper fun for me ;) But like everyone above me has said, you should pick the subject you'll enjoy more, because it's really no fun to take a subject that you hate. Hope this helps!