Unsatisfacactory IOP grade

HKamal

Hey all,

I just got my IOP grade for English A SL. I got 22/30 a grade 6. I was told that the grade does not matter at this point, only the points since they are added to the IOC points next year to get a grade. I also understand that the IOP is 15% of the grade and the IOP together with the IOC is 30% (right?). Anyway I knew it would be hard to hit a 7 but I am not really satisfied with what I got, I was expecting more. Is a 7 still within reach for my final grade? Need some motivation, I feel like this is a bad grade. I haven't had literature before the IB and it took me up until now to get a feel for what a thesis means and some of the literary devices. I am a science student but don't want my IB score to fall because of one subject. What would be a good approach to ensure a high final grade in English. I mean in Math and Physics I would generally just practise and solve exercises but I am not sure about English.

p.s. I don't suppose it is possible to redo the IOP?

Thanks!

Who's to say practice doesn't work with English? I am sure that if you write a commentary/essay a week then you will see your writing improve. Saying you are a "science student" is just giving yourself excuses.
It's not possible to redo the IOP, unless your teacher gives everyone the chance to do so. Of course with only 15% of your final grade known, it is still mathematically very possible to score a 7. 

20 minutes ago, kw0573 said:

Who's to say practice doesn't work with English? I am sure that if you write a commentary/essay a week then you will see your writing improve. Saying you are a "science student" is just giving yourself excuses.
It's not possible to redo the IOP, unless your teacher gives everyone the chance to do so. Of course with only 15% of your final grade known, it is still mathematically very possible to score a 7.