Hello! I'm a tenth-grade student planning on doing the IBDP for my junior and senior year. As we are beginning our second semester soon, we are required to pick out our subjects for IB. I had a couple of concerns as when I told people about the subjects I'm intending to take, they said I would face a hard time. I'm hoping to study engineering at university, hopefully, either chemical and biomolecular engineering. I'm also hoping to get into a top university as it would help me so much! The subjects I'm planning on doing are;

-Physics HL

-Math HL

-Chemistry HL

-Economics HL

-English A Lit SL

-Arabic B SL

As you can see I really don't want to spend time on languages and I clearly want to focus on sciences and maths. If you have any concerns or advice I could use, it'd be greatly appreciated! Thank you

Edited by Salman

Your subject choices are pretty solid. There's just 2 concerns I have:

1. 4 HLs is brutal, and you picked literally the 3 hardest ones (math, chem and physics). If anything, drop Econ to SL especially if you don't like essays

2. Look at university requirements for biomolecular/biological engineering. Some will require you to know biology. Either apply to universities that do not have this requirement, or make a plan to get the credits you need. Or, just apply to chemical engineering programs.

Otherwise you're pretty good!

1 minute ago, VeronicaG said:

Your subject choices are pretty solid. There's just 2 concerns I have:

1. 4 HLs is brutal, and you picked literally the 3 hardest ones (math, chem and physics). If anything, drop Econ to SL especially if you don't like essays

2. Look at university requirements for biomolecular/biological engineering. Some will require you to know biology. Either apply to universities that do not have this requirement, or make a plan to get the credits you need. Or, just apply to chemical engineering programs.

Otherwise you're pretty good!