decisions decisions.....

J35u5-Fr34k

[font="Trebuchet MS"]Hi there IBers
I am currently an AS level student at Alton college in england. I've allways wanted to do the IB but my GCSE results were not good enough since I was homeschooled, had no teachers and only studied them for 4 months, I am also a year ahead at the moment.
I am going to do the IB next year and I am having trouble deciding about which science to do. I am very much a sciency person and I want to do psychology along with two sciences at higher level.
I am very good at Biology and am definetly going to do that as group 6 and I also want to do chemistry.
Problem is, I have never done chemistry in my life and I don't know wether I will be able to do it. I am currently doing Environmetal studies, Economics, business studies and english. I want to either study medicine or do pathology/environmental forensics stuff at university.
I think both of these require chemistry but I'm not sure I will be able to catch up on the gcse stuff everyone has done when I am so behind everyone else. I could buy the gcse book or revise it and look stuff up before the time, I am very good at learning this way since I have done it all my life.
Please give me some advice here, I really don't know what to do.
Is IB Higher chemistry the sort of course that I will be ale to pick up as I go along???

Thankyou very much
-Jem
[/font]

Typically your past courses don't matter too much in IB. Think of it as starting with completely new slate. I took higher physics after taking it at IGCSE lvl and found that none of what we did was ever mentioned, or even broached in my 2 year course.
What little does come up, your teacher will likely review for the sake of consistency for the entire class. I recommend you know basic atomic structure and familiarise yourself with how the periodic table works. But other than that you'll probably be fine.

Edited by EconSurvivor

• 1 month later...