IB Self Taught IOC and IOP questions

One1

Hello. I have a few questions I would like to ask about my upcoming IOC and IOP in late March. I asked these questions to my teacher but she didn't seem 100% sure.

1. Can we bring as many notes as we want into the PREPARATION room, but only take in 1 A4 paper into the RECORDING room?

2. How many notes can we bring in for our IOP?

3. Is it okay if our IOC is relatively short, even 5 minutes long? (I don't aim to get a 7 in self taught, I just want to pass, but I am really worried about this because when practicing with my extracts I could only get to 5 minutes on most of them, will this be enough to pass?)

4. What happens if you simply read off your notes? (I know this is not allowed but I just wanted to know just how much it affects your grade, is it an automatic 0?)

Thank you.

1) Yes

2) No restrictions (officially), but consult with your teacher on this one. Your teacher decides..

3) 5 minutes is a sign you don't know much and don't have much to say. A good indication of a FAIL.  Its waaaaay too short!   What's more, your teacher/interviewer will DEFINITELY not appreciate having to do a lot of footwork to fill in the gap for you. Moderators will note your over-reliance on the teacher/interviewer. Does not bode well.

4. Never do this. Forget it. Don't even think of it. It's not an option. 

Why not prepare properly for your orals and be ready to talk naturally and thoughtfully? If you are unable to do this without the support of teacher and notes then you are preparing to fail. Think about it.

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Blackcurrant said:

1) Yes

2) No restrictions (officially), but consult with your teacher on this one. Your teacher decides..