Conflicted

emellia

Hi,

I am currently a sophomore who is preparing to begin IB. Prior to High School, I had been in the Highly Capably/Challenge Program in Middle School (8th grade). I am just beginning to choose my classes that will determine what I will take for the next two years. Due to the fact that my Mandarin Teacher is incapable of teaching my class, I have decided to drop Mandarin 2 in class and instead finish Mandarin 3 and 4 online with the Pamoja (IB certified) course online. This allows me to have a free period during both my junior and senior year. Before knowing about my free period, I had decided that my 3 SL classes would be IB Art History, IB Psychology SL, and IB Math SL ( I would be taking Math HL the next year but I just wanted to take the test in the SL class). For my HL classes, I would be taking IB English Language & Literature HL, IB History of the Americas HL, as well as IB Chemistry HL. Before, I decided that I would want my free period so I could finish my Mandarin work during this time, but upon further contemplation, I decided that I really wanted to do IB Physics SL. Physics is a two-year course and I have heard from many people that if you liked math then you would like physics. I am not necessarily the greatest math student, but I generally liked math and I assumed that physics would be a lot of fun. This may not seem like a very good reason to take another IB class, but after thinking about it, it made me want to take to even more. If I had a choice between Chemistry over Physics I would choose Physics, but I need 3 HL classes (Chemistry would be my third) and my IB coordinator told everyone that the HL (advanced physics class) would be brutal and nearly impossible. I really want to take Physics but I'm not sure if I would be able to handle it. For reference, my careers paths include either becoming a lawyer or working for the government (FBI/CIA). Although these classes won't necessarily benefit what I want to pursue I still wan