HL Selections for Engineering Majors

Adastra

Hello, 

I am a first year IB student and we are about to finalize our HL decisions. I am not sure about my courses so I wanted to hear your ideas.

I want to study biomedical engineering in college -but I might also apply to other engineering branches. My courses are Turkish A, English A, ITGS, Chemistry, Physics, and Math. Three of my HL subjects are certain: Physics, Math, and Turkish A.

The thing is, I wanted to take 4 HLs to strengthen my application. My counselor advised that if I also take Chemistry as HL that would look good. In our school sciences are always taught as HL, the only thing that changes are the exams. Still, I am not really sure if I can handle the courseload of Physics+Math+Turkish+Chemistry HL. Is this too tough?

My other option is to take English A as HL. My grades are pretty good at languages, and I think English+Turkish+Physics+Math combination is much more manageable. However, I do not know how two Language A HLs would look in a profile of an engineering applicant. Do you think that it is something like a sign of broad interests, or is it just useless? 

I can also take ITGS HL instead of these two, but again I do not know how a social science HL would look and ITGS HL seems a bit harder than English A HL.

Thanks for reading this long and indecisive post; if you could share your ideas, experiences, or suggestions I would be more than grateful. 

Edited by Adastra