How to tackle Biology in Finals

inriya

(Still in construction; last edit: 30 April 2017)

Hello there! What inspires me to write this long post is because of numerous questions I got in my inbox are mostly about "How to revise for Biology?" or "How do I get a 7 in my Biology HL/SL?" So here we go. Why should you trust me for this post? I have studied Chemistry HL & Biology HL, which I am a stressful little double-science student potato. The most insane thing I did was to get my Biology from 4 from the beginning of Grade 12 (IBDP1) into a 6 in my IB finals in Grade 13 (IBDP2).  I would like to share how I really revise for Biology, a continuation from my post back in April 2016 for all you stressed out IB students. 

The study method in this post is suitable for: IB Final Exam for Biology SL and HL Students, normal in-school exams for Biology SL and HL Students 

Beware: this is how I REVISE for my Biology exam, it may not be applicable to you because everyone has a unique way of revising. 

Q1: Why is Biology such a hard subject to students? 

1. It has a huge topic range 
  2. Requires memorization 
  3. Requires different methods of revision

Q2: How do we revise for Biology? What is the best method to do so?

• The best way to revise for Biology is to have a great habit of taking notes. Taking your own notes or highlighting key points in your book are the best ways to get things into your head. Biology has a huge and nearly impossible amount of knowledge that requires memorization, so a full understanding of the topics is the ultimate key to a high score in Biology.