Passing IB exams externally

cocacola

Hi,

I have passed my IB exams in 2014. Currently finishing my bachelor studies, I decided that I want to completely change my educational path and pursue a degree in Medicine. However in IB I did not take chemistry and only did bio. 

The school that I graduated at informed me that the only way to catch up the missing course is to attend the full programme for two years as I need to complete the internal assesments. However, this seems more than unnecessary for me, I believe that I can prepare for the exams by myself in much less time. I do not need any help in the internal assessment either, I would only need to be given access to a chemistry lab for a few hours. My school tells me that this is not possible, though.

As I found it problematic to find any information in the internet, I wanted to ask you if any of you have heard about any options to pass a missing IB course externally, I mean without attending the course in school and via self study?

I will be very grateful for any tips

This does indeed seem like a complex situation… In any case, what you will receive would be an extra certificate, that's for sure.

Maybe check with the university you want to go; do they require chemistry? Maybe they have admission exams or a preparatory year, that's where I'd start my research.
Otherwise try looking at other IB schools in your region, if there are any, and see if they offer anything else.

The reason your school is telling you that it's impossible is that you have to have a minimum amount of hours of class, given by an IB school. The other possibility would be to take private classes at your school, but that will probably be costly.

Hope it helps!

• Like 1