Biology Paper 1 and Paper 2 Discussion

ls78

Oh God, for me Paper 1 was soo difficult, there were so many diagram questions... In my opinion it was the most difficult multiple choice that I have ever done! I did November 2016 for my mock exam and I got 40/40 so I don't know what went wrong yesterday :(

Paper 1 was definitely the most difficult multiple choice I've ever done, but it wasn't impossible. If everyone found it hard, at least they'll probably lower grade boundaries right? ;) As for Paper 2, I felt like it was more data analysis and less own knowledge than past papers, but that could just be me... I'm SL by the way

Paper 1 was quiet challenging, however, it only required candidates to read each question very carefully! Also, there were few questions from NOS ( personally i found P1 easy) . On the other hand, I found paper 2 quiet unfair. I studied really hard cover every topic  mentioned in the study guide, except menstrual cycle and factors affecting gene expression and guess what?! Both of them popped up on the paper worth 8 marks!! Luckily I had some idea about methylation and transcription regulator.

Edited by Meraj

Honestly, I found both paper 1 and 2 difficult. I had a mini heart attack when I saw the questions for paper 1 - I made a lot of guesses and believe me - I actually studied hard. Paper 2 section A was quite ok, but I didn't like any of the questions in Section B.... Meh. 

Edited by Natalia Ratajczak

On my paper 1, I'm pretty sure I guessed from questions 20 to 32.

Paper 2 focused on the two topics my bio teachers ran out of time to teach: the kidney and protein synthesis. I was a tad relieved however, to see that the 8 pages on 1 data question were manageable to figure out even if you had little knowledge about what was actually going on. I now hate turtles.

I didn't have high expectations for this exam given that my bio class was super difficult this year compared to all my other IB classes.