Volunteer Hours

Hi, 

I am currently a grade 8 student and I'm going into Pre-IB next year. I was wondering if I could volunteer this summer, however many of my friends are saying that people that they know that are currently doing IB have to do somewhere around 120 hours of volunteer hours, and it can ONLY be done in grade 11 and 12. 

I tried my best to search it up and see what the possible options are but I can't seem to find any information about when it can be done. I was wondering if anyone knew when the volunteer hours can be done, and specifically how many hours?

Just for reference I live in Ontario, and our minimum is 40 hours.

Thanks,

Xyphn 

The current system for CAS (Creativity, Action, Service) does not require any specific number of hours, but generally 50 hours of volunteering (or service) is a good benchmark.  The hours for IB only count when you're doing the diploma, which is usually grades 11 and 12, so if you're planning on doing these volunteer hours for CAS, leave it for that time.  Some useful links for CAS in general:

• Like 1

If you know that you will do well in the actual IB diploma and you are going to try your best, you are required to do 150 hours by the time u finish grade 12; it is a requirement for you to finish the diploma program. You can start your volunteer hours as soon as your graduate even if it's not the last day of school. For example, if you last day of school is the 29th, but your graduation was on the 23, you can start volunteering on the 24th. You basically have 4 years to complete your 150 hours and there are no requirement or set number of hours you need to do each year. Good luck in Pre-IB! I also got accepted this year too ^^. What high school are you going to?