Which science should i choose

goingtoib

Hello,

I am finding it difficult to decide which science subjects to choose and would appreciate some help and guidance.

First of all, I am not entirely sure what I want to study in the future (perhaps economics, although the sciences really interest me too). That being said, I am sure about studying in the US. 

I have done a summer course in IB biology (also math which I am fairly well at), also had a brief look at the content that appears in IB physics. I have no prior background in chemistry however. 

These are my subjects in general: 

Economics HL

English HL

Science HL

Math SL

Ab initio SL

Science SL 

I want to pick 2 science subjects, one at HL respectively SL. 

1. How is physics HL? Is it the ‘broadest’ science in terms of future studies? Does it differ largely from SL - is SL in that case quite a bit easier? Easiest / hardest topic?

2. How is chemistry SL? I am not to keen on HL, and have heard that SL is easy. Easiest / hardest topic? How do you study for it? Is it quite mathematical? 

3. Lastly, is biology HL much more difficult compared to SL? Is bio SL pretty much the same level as chem SL?

In case I take bio and physics - is that a weird combination, from universities perspective? Since the subjects don’t overlap that much at all..btw, which subjects do overlap the most and would this ease study?

Here are the combinations I am considering:

Physics HL + Biology SL or vice versa

Biology HL + Chemistry SL 

Thanks in advance! Also, please do share any additional insight/your experience with the subjects besides from my questions. 

Since you're taking Math SL I would stay away from Physics HL. SL might be fine.

Bio and chem do overlap in some parts and they work well together. I took both of those and really enjoyed it. Bio is a lot of memorizing, chem is more applying formulas.