Should I do Spanish SL or Spanish AB Initio

I am currently going into 11th grade, and I am wondering which level of Spanish I should take. Ive taken Spanish for 4 years, and am not really good at languages (barely getting a B at the end of my 10th grade year and think that she is a bad teacher who is also the teacher teaching SL next year.) Should I take ab initio and get an A in a class where i'm more comfortable in, or do Sl where i will struggle to even get a B. I heard that colleges will look down on me if I have taken 4 years of spanish prior and choose ab initio. In addition, the rest of my classes I have A's in so i'm looking to apply to some top colleges. Any help would be greatly appreciated. (I am also doing the full ib diploma)

Edited by jw201

Hi Jw201, 

I am a French teacher, but I think I may be able to offer some comments. 

I think it all depends on which major you will be studying in university. If you aim to study science, then I would not worry, I don't think universities will focus on your Spanish ab initio. However, if you are going for social sciences, political sciences, etc. then you will have to endure and go for level B SL. The good thing is that you already know that getting an A in Spanish B will be a challenge and something you can prepare for ahead of time. 

Since you already know it will be challenging, make an action plan ahead of time:

1. Establish your monthly study goals: list all the content that should be known for the exam (grammar, vocabulary themes, and conjugation). This way, you will make sure to respect a timeline to cover all the requirements. Pay special attention to the lessons that are the hardest. 

2. Have study sessions: 1 session = 1 goal.

3. Immerse yourself in the linguistic culture to improve your vocabulary and the ways in which you structure sentences: