Starting the IB in August, please help!

macbakeib88

Hi! 

I'm starting the IB this August and I am wondering what is is like. 

Is it true that you won't really have a social life? I'm also doing sports 4 times a week and I'm wondering whether I can still keep that up, or if I have to drop it. Also, I was wondering what CAS is and how you would go about and complete it. I'm completely new to all of this and I know practically nothing. 

I'm taking these subjects:

English Lang Lit HL
Chemistry HL
Film HL

Psych SL
Chinese B SL
Maths SL

If anyone has any experience in those subjects please let me know what they are like! Thank you so much in advance. 

It depends on how you manage your time. I cannot tell you exactly if you must drop the sports, you will see it by yourself once you start. For English there is not a lot of work unless you are bad in languages (aka like me) then you do have to invest time in it (again depends on the person). Also CAS is explained in the IB Guide so I would look that up if I was you. It is pretty straight forward and you should not be scared of it.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...
On 26/07/2017 at 2:56 AM, macbakeib88 said:

Hi! 

Is it true that you won't really have a social life? I'm also doing sports 4 times a week and I'm wondering whether I can still keep that up, or if I have to drop it. Also, I was wondering what CAS is and how you would go about and complete it. I'm completely new to all of this and I know practically nothing. 

English Lang Lit HL
Chemistry HL
Film HL

Psych SL
Chinese B SL
Maths SL

If anyone has any experience in those subjects please let me know what they are like! Thank you so much in advance. 

Hi there, 

Well, if you want to drop the sports or not depends on you and your circunstances. Personally I have just passed IB1 and did more extracurricular stuff than ever during the school year but also studied more than ever. Most probably you won't have to drop it.