Computer Science EE- AI in the Space Exploration Industry

Aanchal Kumar

Hi, this is my first time creating a forum post and I might not be as specific or on topic as I need to be to get my points and thoughts across so please bear with me.

Currently I am in the midst or writing the first draft for my Computer Science Extended Essay and I seem to have hit a snag. The Research Question I have come up with is:
To what extent has Artificial Intelligence impacted the space exploration industry?

I would appreciate it if anyone could answer a few of my concerns about my RQ:

• Is it too broad?
  • If it is, how can I narrow it without changing too much, as I already put up my first reflection which includes my RQ. (Kind of rushed and got myself into trouble here)
  • Also, are there any fresh or unique takes on this topic? All I seem to be able to think of are the basics. (I just really wanted to do my EE on AIs and now I regret being so adamant)

Below are the Self-Reflections I have posted in the RRS to give you an idea of my direction:

First:

My main points of focus and essay outline are as follows:

1. Introduction: Why AI's should be implemented or researched etc.
  2. How AI's imitate human behaviour: Mental Processes and Procedural thinking.
  3. Efficiency of algorithms: Analyse the Machine Learning Algorithm and improve on efficiency if possible.
  4. Why AI's are suitable for use in space: Benefits and Drawbacks.
  5. Two current uses of AI in space: Rovers (AEGIS) and Environmental Maintenance (BioSphere).
  6. Possible future uses: Extraterrestrial exploration, Interplanetary travel (Passengers).
  7. Conclusion: To what extent has Artificial Intelligence impacted the space exploration industry?

Second:

Outline of Introduction: