[Computer Science] - Self taught subject ?

Augustin

Hi guys !

I am new on the forum so let me first present myself. ;) My name is Augustin but you can call me gus. I am french and I am actually in my very first year of IBDP.
I decided to take the following subjects for the IB: • French A (SL)  English B (HL)  Economics (HL)  Physics (HL)  Maths (HL)  Chemistry (SL) •

The thing is that I would love to take Computer Science in addition to all my current subjects.
Therefore my question is the following:

" Is it possible to self-teach myself this subject ? "

I guess the answer is "depends your school"
So I have asked my IB coordinator but apparently my school doesn't offer Computer Science or at least doesn't teach it. My coordinator also confirmed it was impossible to self-teach subjects other than Group 1 Languages.
However I really, really, really, really * ∞ want to do this course, so do you guys know if there are any ways to take the exam for this subject ? I have learned Computer Science since my 10 years old so I would extremely love to pass the exam no matter the price.

Thank you very much for all your answers, I really appreciate ^-^
Also good luck to all grade 12 students for their final year ;) You're all gonna do great !

Edited by Augustin
Grammar

• 1 month later...

Hey Gus! About your taking computer science as an IB subject, I don't think that it is possible for you to officially take CS judging from the info u gave because i) Your school doesn't offer the course. I don't know whether if you are allowed to self-study any subject except the languages, but since your coordinator has said it, then it must be true since he/she obviously knows more about the details more than me, and ii) You already have 2 subjects from the science group (Phys. & Chem), and CS falls into the same category as those two subjects so even if your school did offer the CS course, you would have had to drop either one.