IB Survival Update Coming Soon

On Saturday April 21st, IB Survival will be momentarily inaccessible while we upgrade the forums. A lot of new features, better search, and loads more. Sorry for any inconvenience!

MusicFighter

self learning ib music.....

hi, 

I am currently studying the IB bridging music. Apparently, my teacher doesn't quite know how to teach ib. I am a little bit worried about the next 2 IB years. Any advice?

That sounds a bit nerve wracking. What exactly is the issue? Is he/she not understanding the material or the requirements of internal/external assessments, for example? 

I take IB Music, and my teacher has had lots of experience with it, which really helps. If your teacher does not know how to teach anything, I am slightly concerned. Talk to your other teachers and/or advisors about this. However, I am not saying that it is impossible to learn what you need to learn. Even if your teacher cannot teach you anything, there is still opportunity to learn at home.

Unless they change the syllabus within the next few years, the main skill you will need to develop is listening to piece of music and analyzing it. This involves looking at the form of it at certain seconds on the track or measures on the sheet music, identifying elements of melody, dynamics, all those musical elements. You will learn how to do this for western music, jazz/pop music, and music from around the world. You'll need to learn the characteristics of certain western musical eras, the characteristics that make up jazz/pop music, and what makes music from different countries definable. For internal assessments, if you are SL, you have a choice between composing and performing (either group or solo recital). If you are HL, you have to do composing and a solo recital. Finally, both SL and HL must complete a Musical Links Investigation, 2000 words comparing two pieces of music from completely distinct musical cultures.