I need help with my EE topic.

I.B. A Failure

Hey. This is my first time posting, so hopefully someone can help me out here. I've just got my Extended Essay proposal back from my supervisor, and she flat out rejected it and said that I need to get something else to write about. The topic of my essay is "To what extent did aviation affect the outcome of WW2?". I would like to write about something regarding aviation and/or the second world war, but there is a lot of pre-existing research on the topic, so it's difficult to find something original to do and I also need to find something that presents an argument, which is a bit difficult because history is pretty straight-forward (to me at least). Can someone help me find something interesting to write about and make suggestions as to how to narrow down my research question and make it argumentative? 

Thanks in advance,

--A Drooling Failure

Hi, welcome to IB Survival. First, don't worry and you certainly aren't a failure. Or at least I also failed my first proposal for the EE, and I don't consider myself a failure. I even ended up writing a pretty good History EE (I'm biased).

I agree with your teacher and trust me, she is helping you by rejecting this.

The one thing I disagree with her on is her complaint about originality–I don't really care about originality in terms of historical topics given that you can score very well on a history EE regardless of whether your topic is well-known or obscure.

Nobody can help you with choosing a research question, but I can offer some tips. WWII was a massive conflict and its corpus is mind-numbingly large. There is no way you could write a 4,000 essay on such a huge topic as aviation in the war. I think it would be difficult to fit in an 800 page book. 

When people tell you the scope of your question is too grand, then try to cut down. Focus on one country, one battle, one facet of this battle, etc.