Lab report crisis

Hughie

Hey I'm a newbie here, and I am in desperate need of some help with writing a lab report.

To tell the truth I've always been bad with writing lab reports; in my old school I didin't have to write any, and even if we did we only had to write aim, method, result, conclusion and evaluation - the simple version. Last year - year 10, 10th grade, year 11 in NZ, 1st year of High School in Korea&Japan, whatever - when I moved to my current school, I don't remember writing any either. So [b]I really have no idea about all those stuff about variables and hypothesis and et cetra.[/b] Dependent variable, independent variable and controlled variable (was it?) - they all just confuse me.

Well fortunately I had one written up in Term 2 holiday (July of this year - I'm studying in Australia) so I tried to find it, but then I couldn't find it anywhere, and of course I've forgotten everything about writing lab reports now. So I am very lost at the moment.

I have the criteria for Biology IA - I'm doing Bio SL though - but I wasn't so sure that the criteria for Chemistry and Biology IA would be the same. I do know that there is a Data Collection and Processing section and a Design section; I think the experiment I have to write my lab report on would be the Data Collection and Processing one because my teacher gave us a sheet with all the method already written on it. I'm not so sure if it has the variables and stuff on it, though, because since I'm a genius I lost that sheet as well. And yes, I am cursing myself for my own stupidity with passion at the moment.

So, in summa, here are the few questions I have to ask;

[b]1. Can anybody give me the criteria for Chemisty (HL) IA?

2. Do I still have to write down variables, hypothesis, aims and methods for the Data Collection and Processing one?

3. Wait, before that, is my experiment actually a Data Collection and Processing one or not?

4. Is an introduction absolutely necessary?