History EE- Red Scare and McCarthyism

Nenab

Hi! I am just beginning my research on my Extended Essay, but need help coming up with my question. I am interested in writing about mccarthyism and the second red scare but am having trouble narrowing down my question. I was thinking about the following:

To what extent did McCarthyism alter the political climate of the United States

How did the fear of communism lead the methods of McCarthyism into an area of lawlessness? OR How was the lawlessness of McCarthyism influenced by the fear of communism in the public?

How did fear of communism in the Second Red Scare lead to injustices during McCarthyism?

I'm having trouble combining these to form good question. Any guidance will help.

Thank You

Edited by Nenab

I think the first question is the best in that it asks a question that you can't immediately answer.

For all the other ones, I don't know if you can arrive at a conclusion that doesn't seem obvious. I mean, clearly, fears influenced the success of McCarthy's purges as without them he wouldn't have been able to blacklist anybody.

I'd be interested though to know what you think. Thanks.

Question 1 seem to be the best question but I have a different reason as compared to Nomenclature. I personally feel that this question will allows you to have a larger research scope as compared to the rest of the questions like questions 2 and 3. Both of these questions are merely questions that evaluate the impact and consequences of a single factor (fear). However, the way that you've phrased question 1 allows for a greater room of discussion about the topic at hand (McCarthyism) as you are compelled to discuss the various ways McCarthyism influenced the political climate of the US rather than just one sole factor. 

I also suggest that you could add in a time frame to be a little bit more specific with the question.