UK University Admissions

Hughie

Hey, I'm studying in Australia at the moment. Our school year starts around the end of January and finishes earlier on in December of the same year.

So I've finished my first year in IB course so far, having my summer break at the moment.

The thing is, I want to study in UK for uni - it's been a dream of mine since I was 5. But then the uni admission system kinda confused me a bit.

I always thought that I had to get the final final IB mark before I put an application form in and not the other way around, as it apparently is O_o

So I'm kinda confused about it at the moment.

And another thing is, down here in Australia we do our final exams in Oct.~Nov., so it's about 6 months after those in Northern hemisphere sit the exams.

When I get my predicted grades would be about 6 months after those in Northern hem. get theirs as well.

I think we do our trials sometime in Term 3, around August or September, and I've heard that a girl in the year above mine has done an interview with Oxford in Term 3 holiday. (Early Oct.)

Hence I wasn't too sure if I'd be able to get my predicted grades by then, fill in the application forms AND send them in by then.

So I was wondering, when exactly is the deadline for admissions in UK universities?

If I don't get my predicted grade by then, am I supposed to submit my application form without them?

Or can I apply for an entry the year after that with my final IB marks already there and with me?

Someone please give me a hand :D

I'm in a hurry, so I'll be brief for now:

UK admissions are run through UCAS: http://www.ucas.ac.uk. The sight will give you the basics you need about applying.

15 January is the latest date for your application to be considered equally. If you are applying to the University of Oxford or Cambridge, latest date is 15 Oct, same goes for all medicine courses.